Will Neopets survive the 2010s? And how?

Sannah

I guess most of us are aware that Neopets has been steadily losing (active) members and hasn't been able to engage many new players for a while.

JumpStart introduced the survey of course (I hope we'll hear back from that soon), but that was about what we, the loyal users, wanted to see Neopets become. A mobile app. Plots. More Habitarium levels. Better customer service. My answers to the questionnaire certainly did not include tips on how to win over a new generation to Neopets. But I've been thinking about it for a few days and this is what I've come up with so far:

1) Accessibility

I have been playing Neopets almost since Day 1 - that is fifteen years. I enjoy all the privileges of a longstanding loyal user. I got to choose whether to convert my pets. I have some pretty retired avatars. If I want something I can usually buy it. I know my way around the site and all its features because I was around when they were introduced bit by bit: treasure maps, guilds, battledome, job centre. A new player would have to play non-stop for at least a year to even have a hope of catching up to me, and I'm a very casual and lazy player. There are accounts and records out there that will never be attainable for a newbie. I imagine that being all kinds of discouraging.

Neopets has done a lot to keep its longterm faithful users happy. Allowing for unconverted pets, Hidden Tower, transfers… but also retiring certain super awesome items (of course, they have also done the opposite at times. Like with Pirate Krawks and Draiks).

But should Neopets at some point try to level the playing field? For example, another MMORPG I played, Diablo II, had a ladder system. Every so often, all characters would be purged and reset to level one so that resources would never end up in the hands of a privileged few forever and ever.