Cellulite, belly fat and everything else

Naamah D.

I've been struggling with depression. Ever since I graduated I've missed high school so much. I miss interacting with the teachers and staff. So my mom brought up that I be put on depression meds. I heard that some depression meds make you gain weight. Normally my mom doesn't let me wear dresses. I asked her why she doesn't let me and she told me that I have cellulite on my arms and then she brought up that I have a belly. She actually used to tell me to suck in my gut when she took pictures of me.

I worked so hard to actually love my body, but now I feel like I have to wear baggy shirts and baggy jeans now because I feel like I'm not worthy of dresses and heels. My mom is 40 something and I'm 21. I actually mentioned something about her not wanting me to get attention from guys and she said that one of the reasons she doesn't wear makeup is she doesn't want me to hate her. I love my mom, but I feel like throwing out my dresses, v-neck shirts, skinny jeans, skirts and everything feminine. I'm comfortable in those kinds of clothes, but what's the point if your mom doesn't want me wearing them in public?

She also whines about my having split ends when really, my hair naturally frizzes up in the humidity. She also talked about how beautiful one of my cousins is right in front of me when we were on vacation two months ago after she told me that I was the prettiest of the three nieces. My feelings are so hurt right now.

May I also add that I'm a size 18 pear shape. Isn't the waist a good feature of a pear shape? My waist measures 41".

I'm sorry your mom is putting you through all this. As a mom of two girls I would never treat my girls like this. I want them to be raised to be comfortable and secure with their figures and love everything about them.