Battledome: Explain Like I'm Five

I'm hopping on board and asking for some battledome advice in preparation for the potential upcoming war!

My pet's stats aren't very high, and I'm curious if I'll be able to participate very fully?

Level: 20

HP: 18

Strength: 31

Defence: 31

Move: 20

Here are the items from TDN's weapon set guide that I have laying around in my SDB. What would be the best to use, and what else can I buy on a budget, considering the recent inflation?

Scarab Ring

Snowager Sword

Scroll of Knowledge

Scroll of the Scholar

Ridiculously Heavy Battle Hammer

Leaf Shield

Dark Nova

Jar of Meepit Eyes

Potion of Concealment

Magical Healing Potion

One last question! :p I've been reading some guides and while I think I'm starting to understand more about battling, is there any sort of strategy? Should weapons be used in a certain order? Do you play a constant every single turn? Is it more about personal preference?

I'm very very new at this, so any little bit of advice helps. Thanks so much in advance! ^_^

Your plot participation will depend on the strength of the enemies. With your pet, you might not be able to beat all of the enemies, but you'll definitely be able to do some of them. If you want a better chance, I suggest increasing your stats, especially HP. Also, you can try to work to the next strength and defense boosts at 35, and then keep pushing to get to the next boost. (If you don't understand boosts, you can read the Battlepedia guide at http://battlepedia.thedailyneopets.com/index.php/articles/viewarticle/battle-strength-defense-boosts/.)

I'm glad to hear you're using the TDN guide for weapons! You have some good ones. Recommended weapons will probably depend on your strategy, though, so I'm going to answer that question first.

Strategy is very much personal preference, and often depends on your pet. My strategy tends to be something like this:

Turn 1: Constant + Freezer

Turn 2: Constant + Bomb or 2 Constants