Negg training and battle set questions?

Okay, so I read a guide that was posted by a member of TDN but I don't quite get it. Here: http://www.tdnforums...np-conversion/. It didn't really explain things well enough for me, I guess. I'm completely new to this method of training. I know it's quite costly but I was considering doing it a few times so I could be better prepared for the plot.

Alright. So my first question is: Since you cannot go twice above any one stat in the training academy, is it possible to do so with a negg? That is my main concern, so I sure hope you are able to. If I am able to train this way with neggs, then which ones should I use? I'm really new to this so any insight is appreciated. Also, would it be cheaper to buy neggs off of the shopwiz/TP or is it best to collect negg tokens? If the latter is true, does anyone have a nifty guide that tells me how many negg tokens a negg is worth?

Here are my current pitiful stats to give you more info ;)

Level: 10

Health: 54/54

Strength: 21

Defense: armoured (I still don't know what that means. I guess it's just because it's so low it doesn't have a number yet?)

Movement: 48

So I'm assuming first and foremost I will need to up my defense some, right? If so, what would be the most cost effective neggs to go about this with? OR, do you think strength would be most important? I know I will need to do both, and I believe you can feed one to your pet every six hours? So hopefully I can gain a few extra stats. With the upcoming plot I'm sure neggs have inflated quite a bit, so that is going to suck. I don't really even know how much I should expect to pay for a few stat changes... but here's to hoping it's within budget.

Not sure what my main weapon will be yet. I do have a golden compass and leaf shield. I will also be using downsize and a green scorchstone (being lent by an awesome person. :P) May also be getting lent a honeypotion or a rusty pitchfork, although I'm not entirely sure yet.