Feedback on Digital Art Attempt

EchoEternal

BloodSaphirePetpetSubmition.jpg

Since I'm new to digital art and not entirely sure how to fix the issues with this picture, I thought I'd ask you guys.

•  
  • I used regular #2 mechanical pencil to sketch, then inked the sketch with a thin-tip Sharpie and erased the lines.
  • I scanned at the library in both B&W and grayscale mode to see which looked better.
  • I used the B&W result because it looked cleaner.

I used my laptop's touchpad and PS2 to color and shade.

•  
  • I used the magic wand tool and eraser to get clean lines & a transparent background.
  • Then I created layers and pretty much used the line art as a coloring book, putting one or two colors in each layer.
  • I stayed inside the lines by selecting sections in line art using the magic want tool and inverting selection/constricting/expanding as a necessary, then switching to the layer I was putting the current color in.
  • I selected darker colors for the outline by selecting from the color the outline would border and then making it darker.
  • I shaded by putting a new layer on top of every color layer, selecting the appropriate area as described before, and using a low opacity of the outline color to shade each section.
  • I just used a low opacity blue with a large brush to paint in the simple bg.

This is supposed to be a pink Skieth holding a Drackonack.

TL;DR

traditional line art colored with PS2 using laptop touchpad. How do I make it and future pieces look better?

I clean the lineart by using these methods using photoshop :

i) i choose white color as primary color. choose select and then color range.

ii) delete white selection.

iii) on the drawing layer, use outline. you will see the dirty section clearly.erase.

iv) after dirty section cleaned. undo outline selection.

I clean the lineart by using these methods using photoshop :

i) i choose white color as primary color. choose select and then color range.