Bubbles and Life

Featherstar

(Yes, I'm relatively new and this is my first time starting a debate. I read the rules twice to make sure I'm not missing anything, but please please tell me if I'm doing anything wrong. ^^ Thanks!!)

This is a rather opinion-oriented debate, but I thought it'd be interesting so I figured I'd post it here.

So, you've found a jar of bubbles. Of course the bubbles inside are non-living, so they have no senses and know nothing and are not conscious. Then you're told that if you opened the lid to this jar, the bubbles would come out and would come to life. So if you opened the lid, they would feel, know, think, have a conscience, just like a human being, and they would also be happy. But their life would last only one second (from the opening of the jar), before they popped and were wiped from existence once more - in essence, painlessly killed. Would you open the jar if you were given the choice?

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Ooooohhhh that is sooo hard! Why did you post this hard choice? Now I HAVE to answer! :laughingsmiley:

Lets see...I would probably let them out because they are basically dead if they in the jar, so they deserve a second of life before they become dead again. Thats my logic. :laughingsmiley:

I'm going to agree with Divya on this. I would open it. They wouldn't know the difference if you didn't. But if you did, they would get that for a short amount of time. Even though afterwards, it would be as if they never were.

Interest question.

Thanks! :3

In my opinion, I'd let them go as well - because in 'the grand scheme of things', our lives may as well be seen as only a blink in time, and we'll eventually die in the end. But if given the choice, I'd definitely want to live my life however short it may seem (perhaps to a billion times longer living being).