Could someone explain please.

naalaro

Rule no. 4) Art trades and requests are fine, but please remember that under no circumstances are you allowed to pay someone for neopets art with real money, neopoints, or neopets items.

For the record, Im an artist. I've been doing freelance commissions online together with art trades for almost two years and i fail to understand the clause: 'real money'

I understand neopets own rule on the items and neopoints issue, but i hardly see why a person cannot demand a simple commission from an artist on neopet characters and/or related fanwork. Comparing neopets to the rest of the entertaimemnt industry, from comics, online games, and animation, fancommisions is hardly illegal, and i dont see what makes neopets special enough to revoke individual rights to demand an artistic work piece (just look at world of warcraft fanart hitting 60 dollars on ebay)

For the record, i occasionally do fanart, and i make sure i do it right, and i do it well. As an ART BOARD this clause in this rule is pretty ridiculous, and its not like we artist force anyone to commission us, rather, we have to use our own hardwork to build up and generate our own demand through advertising of our own talents. Does this not apply to Neopets related artwork too on this board?

Copyright, plain and simple. They own it, they have it copyrighted. If you want to get technical, owners of WOW, Disney, and everything else could sue a ton of people for doing those things. They just don't, they don't have time to mess around suing 16 year olds who make fan art then charge for it. I totally understand where they are coming from, they made it they have rights to it. Would you like someone to make "fan art" of one of your creations then earn money off of it, probably not....you did the work you would deserve the money, even if they changed it some it was still your design originally.