Why is junk suddenly so expensive??

LadyMidday

I just recently got back on after a couple of years and noticed that a freakin box of wheat thins goes for 5k now! So do dried apricots, brown sauce and a handful of other stuff that used to be on the lamer end of the prize spectrum at the tombola. Did I miss something?? Why the sudden spike in prices?

I went on Jellyneo's item database and saw that a few of these prices shot up on April 8th, 2014 (while I was off). What happened then?? Sorry if I sound like a total noob, hahah. I've been wondering for about a week now!

EDIT: Sorry, by that same token I've also noticed that pirate-related morphing potions are way way cheaper. Any reason for that, too? Not that I'm complaining, I really wanted a pirate Aisha when I was younger, and now I've got one! :-)

The "Coincidence" daily has brought up the price of dried apricots, brown sauce, wheat thins, etc. It asks for a random amout of what used to be "junk" items, for a chance to test the RE machine. It basically created a "sellers market" for those items. You can read about the daily here. It started with The Water Tower event and the end result was the "Coincidence" daily. I believe the event started in March 2014 and ended in April 2014, with the "Concidence" daily continuing from that point forward.