Taxes

Welcome Back Apathy

What do you think about taxes? Income taxes? Capital gains taxes? Sales tax? Etc. etc. etc. What is a fair way to tax people? What is an effective way to tax people? Any other topics I'm missing that are tax related.

Personally, I think that the most FAIR way to tax people would be through sales tax only. That way, someone who only spends money on food, rent, etc. (the small things) will not get over-taxed, while it would do no good for rich people to hoard money in offshore accounts. If you pay a lot in taxes, you only have yourself to blame. And the only way to cheat on taxes is to have a lemonade stand or something :-) Because you're selling a product without giving the taxes to the government! It would make our tax code much simpler. Yes, sales tax only would solve a lot of problems.

I have a degree in economics, though, and I know that while it would be simple and fair, it would also cause a lot of economic problems to do it. High sales tax would increase black market goods. It would encourage people NOT to spend money--which is good in the cases of the people who tend to spend more than they have, but overall slows the economy. If it could work, it would be the best solution to the U.S. government, but it wouldn't work.

So I think income tax is the best way to go about it. And a progressive income tax, while it may seem unfair to some people, is the most effective way. I have a hard time keeping from rolling my eyes when the top whatever percent complains about their high tax bracket. I know that many businessmen work very hard for their money, but they don't work exponentially harder than the worker who works a 40 hour week and makes $30,000 a year. So why do they make exponentially more money? Okay, you know what? Make exponentially more money. Just don't complain about getting taxed more for it; don't say it's not fair. It is perfectly fair.