iFrames

smumpkins

Okay, I was just curious if anyone would know how to take a site that's in an iFrame and position it to a specific part of the page on load.

For example:

Let's say I want to code my personal site so that a gaming site comes up, and I want it load in my iframe (already setup to load the page in it), but I want it to load in a specific spot of the page (such as: left="20px" top="30px). Is there any way to do this, when you're using a 3rd party site within the iFrame?

Here's the coding that I've been using (site swapped out for example.com)

<iframe width="597" height="181" src="example.com"></iframe>

Also, there are no styles in my header, but I could do that if necessary - though it's not worked thus far.

Any ideas on how to position the page to specific coordinates upon load?

Heh. I'm no expert, so don't take my word as gospel truth, but I'll give it a shot.

It certainly wouldn't be the cleanest approach, but try putting the iframe in a <div> tag? Something like:

<div style="left:20;top:30">
<iframe width="597" height="181" src="example.com"></iframe>
</div>

Why do you need it in a certain place, anyway?

No, that's not what I'm shooting for. That would just put the iframe in a specific spot on my page. I want the page that's IN the iframe to load at a specific coordinate of the page within the iframe.

The reason that I want to do this is because I'm lazy, and I'm trying to customize my homepage.

So you want a page to load in your iFrame? To do that:

<iframe name="test" src="example.com">

<a href="new-page.html" target="test">

\

Or do you want the page to load in a different part of the iFrame? To do that:

<iframe src="new-page.html">

You would have to insert some styling into new-page.html, though. As Matt said.

<style type="text/css">
html {
 left:20; top:30;
}
<style>
Content Here.