I need to make a tough decision and need some serious advice

chibi_chibi_tsukino

Hi guys, I need to make a really hard decision and just want to know what other people think. I seriously need some unbiased advice.

In late 2010 I moved from Germany to Australia to get a Master's degree but mainly to be able to be with my Australian boyfriend. Now that the end of my degree is approaching the big question is: Should I stay in Australia or move to Europe?

My main worry is that although I really want to be with my boyfriend in Australia, I am very concerned about getting a good job there. Getting my first job in Europe might (!) be a lot easier and I might be able to get a better position. But then there is the financial crisis … I have no idea whether I have reasons to worry about not getting a good job in Australia or if its most likely all going to be fine.

There are many pro's and con's:

Stay in Australia:

(+) I can be together with my boyfriend. The relationship means a lot to me.

(+) I love the climate.

(+) nice people

(+) Australia is NOT affected by the global financial crisis

(-) I would have to get a $ 3000 loan to pay for my visa (yes, it's THAT expensive!). I already have a $ 2500 student loan and I'm terrified to get into more debt.

(-) I am worried that my chances on the Australian labour market aren't very good. I will soon have an Australian Master's degree but I don't have much practical experience (2 internships and a few unqualified student jobs). Plus there aren't many vacancies in my field in Australia.

Move to Europe:

(+) I can move back in with my parents for free and apply for jobs in English and German speaking countries in Europe (I am considering Ireland, UK and Austria, NOT Germany)

(+) Getting my first job might be easier in Europe and there are better jobs out there than in Australia (salaries in Europe and Australia are comparable)