New to BD, seeking guidance

Despite my long membership with Neopets, I never got much into the Battledome, probably because back before I stopped playing for a few years, I was too young to really get how any of it worked. Now I've come back to Neopets, initially for the lulz, and now I find myself hooked on it again. Now I've become pretty interested in the Battledome but since I'm just starting out at it, I'd like some ratings, advice, words of wisdom, whatever - anything is welcome. Keep in mind that I will be chiefly playing 1P, until I can get a better set and stats and such so that I can take on other people, something I don't expect to happen for quite some time. Here are my pet's stats and equipment:

Stats:

Level: 21

Health: 14/14

Strength: GREAT (27)

Defence: GREAT (24)

Move: mach 3

Intelligence: master genius (83)

Abilities (all are Level 1):

Night Vision

Water Jet

Magic Torch

Spark

Bubble Shield

Magic Pebbles

Smoke Screen

Fiery Roar

Flash

Bless

Heal

Equipment:

Green Frost Cannon

Jade Staff

Scarab Ring

Unstable Slime

Rainbow Scroll

Leaf Shield

Fiery Sun Scroll

Sword of Knowledge

Eventually I plan to take a few of these out and put in a Golden Compass and something that will do decent fire damage. I welcome any and all helpful and constructive input, but please bear in mind I am by no means rich and I am completely baffled as to how people get the millions of NP they do (if you want to fill me in, I'm all ears). Thanks!

Same here! I recently started becoming serious about collecting avatars so I really need a battledome at least for 1v1s. Anyway I know STR is extremely important since it's the basis of the damage you do. I'm not quite sure about the rest. And of course, how high you are able to train your pet is based on level =x so it would be wise to level it up as well. @_@