Another newbie joins the crowd.

arva9

Hello, I am Arva. I am a newbie to TDN, as I just started using the site a few days ago. I am not a newbie to Neopets, as I have been there 6 1/2 years. I do have some questions though, if someone would be willing to answer them.

1. Is it considered a good or bad thing to modify your text (i.e. change color, size, etc.) on these forums? I know of a few places where you get frowned upon if you do not modify your text somehow, but I also know of some places where you are frowned upon if you do. I prefer my text to be small and orderly, which is why I ask.

2. Where are the Avatar Lending Program Rules? I have gathered from reading over several posts that you have to have a minimum of 200+ avatars, and 25+ posts on these forums, to be lent an avatar item, but every link I find that leads to what apparently used to be the ALP Rules is broken.

3. I know that chatspeak is frowned upon here, but what about smilies that aren't smilies (i.e. ^-^ || :3 || o3o)? I tend to use at lease one of these, or one of many others, when talking/chatting about nearly anything, so I need to know if those are ok.

I apologize if any of these questions are covered in a F.A.Q. somewhere, but I couldn't find them, hence why I posted them here.

Thank you for taking the time to read all of this. :*

Hi there, and welcome!

Hrm, let's see if I can help --

1. Is it considered a good or bad thing to modify your text (i.e. change color, size, etc.) on these forums?

I don't think it's good or bad. People here don't seem to mind if you change your font. Unless, of course, you change it to something obnoxious. Then you might get complaints and/or things thrown at you. hehe

2. Where are the Avatar Lending Program Rules?

http://alp.thedailyneopets.com

3. I know that chatspeak is frowned upon here, but what about smilies that aren't smilies (i.e. ^-^ || :3 || o3o)?

Smilies are okay. Just don't use them excessively!