State of (Un)rest [Style Question]

livvy

So I've been working on a story for quite a while, and just recently began co-writing with Theo, 'cuz he's awesome and such. :yes: Anywho, I hate to give you a random piece of the middle of a story, but this is my first time co-writing, and I'd really appreciate some opinions on how well the styles blend.

Basically, through reading these sections, if I gave you two coloured high-lighters and told you to highlight the parts I wrote and the parts Theo wrote in different colours, could you? (Hint: Theo's sections are the better-written ones. ;) (Don't deny it, Theo! :angry: (He will.)))

Caught!

Later that evening, Annie went down to the hold as instructed by Captain Rourke. “Look a’ the wood nice and close,” he’d ordered in his heavy Irish brogue. “If any’s cracked or leakin’, ya want ta’ patch it with some tar. Wouldn’t want us t’ be sinkin’, now would ya?” She stopped first in the broom closet - Jacob insisted it had a ship name, but Annie could never remember it - to pick up a bucket of tar. The sun was just low enough in the sky to light the small room perfectly, and Annie found the tar with no trouble. She removed the lid curiously, and almost immediately replaced it and staggered backwards, coughing furiously to rid her lungs of the noxious fumes. Her shoulder banged painfully against a rough wooden spar, sending her reeling off in another direction, and she was barely able to regain her balance without toppling over altogether. Maybe bringing the tar down first wasn’t such a good idea.