Please evaluate my battle set

Though I have been playing Neopets for nearly 7 years, I am relatively new to the battledome. I have been taking advantage of the great information that tdn has to offer and doing lots of research. Here's what I've got so far..

My Pet Stats (copied straight from Neopets) *Note - My training method and these Battledome scores were "pre-tdn research":

Name : Forestbite321

Species : Eyrie

Agility : 23 (GREAT (23))

Attack Strength : 40 (EXCELLENT (40))

Defence Strength : 33 (GREAT (33))

Current hp: 79 / 69

Level : 37

BattleDome Scores

Played: 185

Won : 151

Lost : 29

Drawn : 5

Score : 11566

Withdraws Made : 0

Withdraws Received : 0

My new battleset (post-tdn research and what I could afford):

Ylanas Blaster

Golden Compass

Frost Cannon

Green Scorchstone

Honey Potion

Downsize!

Sophies Magic Hat

Scarab Ring

After these purchases, I am broke until I sell/trade another 1m worth of items that I own. I earn around 6k per day avg in games (up to 12k when I have oodles of time).

Is what I have here balanced enough for my pet to be a formidable opponent within its stat range? If it needs improvement, what does it need (based on my "financial status")? I deeply appreciate your taking time to read/input here.

my pet stats are

Lvl : 25

Str : 35

Def : 20

Mov : 14

Hp : 32 / 32

I'm trying to get him to the point where fighting th eavatar battledome challengers will be easy. If you do the research on what pet you want to fight and figure out what stats you should have, you can train towards your goal. And those items are pretty good too. Again, depending on who you are trying to beat in the 1 player BD, there is a list of items that will help you win the battle.

and if you have about an 1-2 hours depending on how good you are at games, I recommend viewing the petpage of JubbyJubJack on neopets. it has a great 50k a day guide with links to games and dailies.