FREE Technical Support for Virus Issues by Microsoft

Daily Dare

As some of you know, I work as a Microsoft Customer Service Representative. My role is to inform customers of their support options. When it comes to virus/hacks/malware, I always advise customers that Microsoft always offers FREE support with malware related issues.

Question: Do you think that you're infected with malware?

Answer: Yes, I sure do.

Solution: Run a free scan with Microsoft OneCare at www.safety.live.com, it's a free trial. Make sure you have turned off the virus detector(s) that you may have installed on your computer. Once done that, write down (or screenshot) the names of the viruses that were found. Next, all you have to do is call Microsoft Customers Service (1-800-Microsoft), once you're connected with a Customer Service Representative (CSR), tell them what Operating System you're using, and that you have the name(s) of the virus(es) that you have on your computer.

The CSR will create you a 10-digit Service Request number (or Case Number), and will transfer you right over to Microsoft's PCSafety Team.

It's as easy as that. Even if you're warranty is with the manufacturer of the computer (OEM), we offer FREE virus support. All we need is the name of the virus(es), and we will send you over to technical support.

Questions?

I tend to use the TrendMicro free scanner ontop of what the Avast that I already have installed.

But guess it's a good option for those that don't really know how to get rid of virus/malware, etc.

That's so nice of Microsoft. Despite refusing to use Windows unless there is no other option, I must applaud Microsoft for offering free virus support, which must be expensive to them to keep a virus database updated and to pay the support staff. I'll be sure to recommend this to a couple of my friends. If Microsoft only did PR on this kind of stuff rather than try to make Windows sound secure, they'd be loved a whole lot more.